Cinema Monolith

Reviews of movies from my giant DVD tower, and more.

Eden Lake

Eden Lake - poster US smallerCinema Monolith: 5/10
IMDb: 6.9/10
Head in a Vice: 7/10

Released in the UK on September 12, 2008 and in the US on October 31, 2008
Rated R
91 minutes

Directed by James Watkins

Written by James Watkins

Cast: Kelly Reilly, Michael Fassbender, Jack O’Connell, James Gandhi, Thomas Turgoose, Bronson Webb, Shaun Dooley, Finn Atkins, James Burrows, Tara Ellis, Thomas Gill, Jumayne Hunter

Ever since I was a kid, I’ve been a fan of revenge films. I don’t know what might’ve prompted this—perhaps a moment of vengeance I was subjected to in a Disney cartoon—but I definitely get a kick out of watching them, mainly because it shows the bad guys getting beat, which doesn’t always happen in the real world. My friend Tyson over at Head in a Vice recommended a revenge-themed horror film to me a while back, and it sounded like it was right up my alley. The film was Eden Lake, a British thriller whose elements of horror stemmed not from the usual monsters, ghosts, or zombies, but from a handful of unruly, antagonistic teens.

From the very start, it was clear who the good guys and bad guys were: a fun young couple, Jenny and Steve (Kelly Reilly and Michael Fassbender), whom you bonded with immediately, plan a getaway to the shores of a remote, woodsy lake, where they hope to spend a relaxing weekend together, and where Steve plans to ask Jenny to marry him. But their tranquility is soon disrupted by the arrival of a gang of boorish, irritating kids, who go out of their way to make trouble. Before long, these punks have gone off the deep end, resorting to theft, kidnapping, and torture before engaging Jenny in a cat-and-mouse chase through the woods, where she desperately fights for her life.

I’ll admit, I was really looking forward to where this story was headed…or at least, where I thought it was headed. First-time director James Watkins, who also wrote the screenplay, went above and beyond to make the young couple likeable and the punks repellent, as well as the atmosphere heavy and the tension locked on high. The actors contributed, too, with their realistic portrayals; Reilly and Fassbender were both great, and had me so fully invested in their characters, I couldn’t help but be worried sick about them, while on the other side of the coin, the rage and hatred that Jack O’Connell had me feeling towards his gang leader Brett was completely off the charts.

And that was one of the two problems I had with the film: for me, it was just too true-to-life to be fully enjoyed as escapism, which is why I watch movies in the first place. The true horror of this horror film was that the mentality of these senseless, dehumanized jerks wasn’t entirely fiction, and these deplorable situations and confrontations play out every day in the society we now live in. The question is, do I want to see these situations and confrontations on my movie screen? Sure…as long as at some point in the story, our ‘good guys’ seek retribution on their tormentors, and deliver some sort of satisfactory payback by film’s end.

But what happens when our heroes, our innocent victims and the good characters we’re pulling for, have no chance in hell of overcoming their obstacles and defeating their enemies? As I watched this film, I kept waiting for Jenny and Steve to turn the tables on their attackers, but I finally realized it was never going to be. And that was my second problem with Eden Lake: the bad guys win, and unfortunately I’ve been seeing this trend in too many movies over the past few years. Who wants the psychotic idiots of the world to come out on top, without even a hint of eventual punishment for their actions?

It never occurred to me that the scales would fail to tip in Jenny’s favor, and though her decisions weren’t always smart ones, she at least took them in the right direction. But at every damn turn, her efforts were crushed, and after a while I grew tired of the relentless hopelessness of it all, and eventually my heart and mind just gave up. And especially so once the movie arrived at its conclusion, which I admit was a good one, cinematically speaking, and took me quite by surprise because of its reversal of expectations. And perhaps director Watkins deserves some kudos for taking the chance with it that he did…but again, was it the ending I wanted to see, here or anywhere else? No, not at all.

In fact, the wrap-up left me so depressed, you can actually hear it in my voice at the end of the notes I narrated into my digital recorder during my viewing. It left me freaking depressed, and I’m not sure that’s what I want out of a movie I watch, whether it’s the filmmaker’s intention or not. And so that’s my dilemma with Eden Lake: do I recommend a film that’s well-made, is tense and at times exciting, and delivers a punch, or do I warn people away because of its troubling storyline and its characters’ complete lack of humanity? I just don’t know, which is why I’ll go neutral with my rating, and leave it up to you whether to watch or not to watch.  (5/10)

Eden Lake

9 comments on “Eden Lake

  1. Reid-99
    8/19/14

    I am not sure I want to watch this now, I think I get a sense of how the movie is going through your review and…………I tend to agree. I want to escape away from the world, not getting trapped into a depressing, realistic world depiction of life. Not that I always want to be in Happy Land in every movie, but I definitely want to avoid having to rise to the occasion to feel depressed for this film.

    • Todd Benefiel
      8/19/14

      Yes, that’s exactly how I feel…I don’t know if you ever saw The Strangers, or a French horror film called Them, but those two followed the same mentality as Eden Lake, and I was left disappointed and depressed with those as well. Coincidentally, all three were ‘inspired by true events’; at some point, I’d like to see a film inspired by true events where, for once, the bad guys get their asses handed to them.

      And by the way, have you seen the new Star Wars movie? Luke and Leia are decapitated and gutted by Tusken Raiders, and Darth Vader destroys the universe and lives happily ever after.

      • Reid-99
        8/19/14

        What??? Is Disney taking the European approach to managing the Star Wars franchise? Thats rough, the Force will never be the same.

      • Todd Benefiel
        8/19/14

        Actually, I think the Force will be strong with this one.

  2. grandrapidsgirl
    8/20/14

    Not good when the bad guys win. And a movie that leaves one depressed doesn’t sound like entertainment. But as usual, your review is wonderful! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this film Todd!

    • Todd Benefiel
      8/20/14

      Yeah, you might want to skip this one, if you feel the same way about this sort of thing as I do. Thanks for checking in, Julie!

  3. Tyson Carter
    8/20/14

    I liked that the ending wasnt your typical Hollywood ending. Anyway, you know my thoughts and cant wait to post this now the blogathon has started. Ill let you know when I schedule you 🙂

    • Todd Benefiel
      8/20/14

      I don’t even think it was a Bollywood ending! Thanks for letting me take part in your blogathon, Tyson, even though I did jump the gun a bit! And thanks for the recommendation, and introducing me to Kelly Reilly!

  4. Pingback: Eden Lake (2008) | Head In A Vice

Feel free to comment, you readers of the Monolith!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Enter your email address and click the button below to become a bona fide Cinema Monolith follower. C'mon, what's the worst that could happen?

Join 137 other followers

Review Totals

Movies Reviewed: 159

From the Monolith: 87

Movies by Decade

1920s – 0
1930s – 4
1940s – 11
1950s – 22
1960s – 30
1970s – 22
1980s – 25
1990s – 5
2000s – 10
2010s – 30

Movies by Genre

Action/Adventure – 28
Comedy – 33
Crime – 9
Documentary – 1
Drama – 16
Horror – 28
Martial Arts – 0
Musical – 1
Mystery/Thriller – 14
Romance – 3
Sci-Fi/Fantasy – 19
Western – 6

Movies by Rating

10 star – 9
9 star – 19
8 star – 23
7 star – 22
6 star – 14
5 star – 15
4 star – 16
3 star – 12
2 star – 15
1 star – 11
0 star – 3

Blogathons I’ve Joined

The Coolest Links

%d bloggers like this: