Cinema Monolith

Reviews of movies from my giant DVD tower, and more.

Jaws Month at the Monolith!

It was 40 summers ago that I first saw the Steven Spielberg classic Jaws, and I’m celebrating the anniversary with a month of Jaws posts!

Jaws - photo title

Back in the summer of ’75 I went to see Jaws for the first time, with my parents and brother at the Fashion Valley 4 theater in San Diego, and from that point I was forever hooked; it made such an impact on my 12-year-old Disney-weary mind that day, I declared it my favorite movie as soon as the end credits began to roll, and it has remained my favorite to this day. I saw it five times that summer—including twice in one day—and once more during its re-release in 1979, before network television took over and I watched every airing I could. Once I secured a VHS copy years later, I made it a ritual to watch it every July 4th, and have done so without fail ever since.

I’ll continue that tradition tonight, when I sit down with a recently-restored version on DVD and a bowl of Pop Secret popcorn, and enjoy it for maybe the thirtieth time (an estimation, since I’ve seen it so often over the decades, I’ve lost count). This won’t be my first viewing of the year, however; last month I walked next door to my neighborhood multiplex and caught a 40th anniversary screening there, where I got the idea to honor the film with a month of posts on Cinema Monolith. I have four in mind, which I’ll post once every weekend throughout July, and if I think of anything else that might be worthy of inclusion, I’ll post it during the week.

And now, I’d like to take a moment to thank everyone for their patience during a rather dry and static past few months—okay, past several months—here at the Monolith, and hopefully these thirty days of Jaws posts will kick-start a more consistent and productive posting schedule. I’d also like to apologize to everyone whose movie blog sites I’ve been neglecting over these same few months; beginning this weekend, I’m going to do my best to get back to visiting and commenting on a daily basis again.

So anyway…thanks for stopping by, and enjoy Jaws Month!

14 comments on “Jaws Month at the Monolith!

  1. butterboy44
    7/4/15

    Yes, and on this day forty years ago I began my lifelong fear of the ocean. Thanks Dad.

    Like

    • Todd Benefiel
      7/5/15

      Yeah, same here…although I guess you could say my fear started three years prior to that, with The Poseidon Adventure. But don’t worry, we eventually got revenge on Dad: now he has an irrational fear of primates, after we made him take us to see Any Which Way You Can five years later.

      Like

  2. Great idea! As you know I love this film as well. It left a lasting mark on my childhood! I’ll be checking in to see and read your posts so keep ’em coming.

    Like

    • Todd Benefiel
      7/5/15

      Thanks, Mike! I knew it was a favorite movie of yours, so I hoped you’d be checking in. I’ll start the posts next weekend…see you then!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. No need for apologies – you’re a busy guy! Always great to hear from you! How amazing that you can see this so many times and not tire of it! Great flick! Looking forward to “Jaws Month”!

    Like

    • Todd Benefiel
      7/5/15

      I know…30+ times and it’s still a treat to watch! And I’m still seeing things I’d never seen before; last night, I found something that I’ll talk about in a post later this month…it’s pretty funny. Hard to spot if you’re not looking…I’d read about it on-line the night before watching it. Thanks, Julie!

      Like

  4. Stu
    7/8/15

    I look forward to Jaws Month! I guess it’s the sign of a great film if you can sit through it that many times…I guess only Star Wars (and maybe Raiders of the Lost Ark) comes close for me in terms of the number of times I’ve watched them. I haven’t seen Jaws in a while, I probably ought to watch it soon.

    Like

    • Todd Benefiel
      7/8/15

      I’d have to do a little research to figure out what my second most-watched movie is of all time, but I know Raiders would rank fairly high…maybe it’s Rear Window or Back to the Future. Looking forward to a review of Jaws if you get a chance to watch it again…and a review of that caveman movie whose name escapes me at the moment…

      Like

      • Stu
        7/8/15

        The Great Unfinished Movie Of Which We Will Not Speak.

        Like

      • Todd Benefiel
        7/8/15

        AgrEEd. I will never aGAin make note of it on tHis site.

        Like

      • Stu
        7/8/15

        I THink you’ve got At least oNe or two caps locK problemS.

        Like

      • Todd Benefiel
        7/8/15

        Eegahds, I hate my stupid keyboard!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. LOL I’ve always wanted to know how to spell “Eegahds” !! Congrats on the NEW keyboard ! 🙂

    Like

    • Todd Benefiel
      7/8/15

      Well, I must admit, that’s the Cro-Magnon way of spelling ‘egads’! And yes, my new keyboard is working out quite well, though it does have a different feel than my old one, so I’m still getting used to it!

      Like

Feel free to comment, you readers of the Monolith!

Information

This entry was posted on 7/4/15 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address and click the button below to become a bona fide Cinema Monolith follower. C\'mon, what\'s the worst that could happen?

Join 210 other subscribers

Review Totals

Movies Reviewed: 225

From the Monolith: 130

Movies by Decade

1920s – 0
1930s – 6
1940s – 20
1950s – 39
1960s – 34
1970s – 36
1980s – 36
1990s – 7
2000s – 13
2010s – 34

Movies by Genre

Action/Adventure – 41
Comedy – 34
Crime – 24
Documentary – 5
Drama – 26
Horror – 38
Musical – 1
Mystery/Thriller – 16
Romance – 3
Sci-Fi/Fantasy – 28
Western – 8

Movies by CM Rating

10 star – 10
9 star – 28
8 star – 34
7 star – 35
6 star – 22
5 star – 23
4 star – 22
3 star – 16
2 star – 19
1 star – 13
0 star – 3

Movies by MPAA Rating

Pre-1968 – 94
G – 1
PG – 32
PG-13 – 30
R – 58
NC-17 – 0
TV and Unrated – 10

Blogathons I’ve Joined

The Coolest Links

This review has been approved by Team Banzai!